Holding every thought captive

title_blogpostI don’t know if I’m the only one guilty of this, but I definitely have a green-eyed monster of jealousy inside me.  It rears its hideous head during some of my weakest moments.  Sometimes, I can look at a FB post and get jealous at the drop of a hat, blindsiding me with emotions that are hard to swallow.  Only unhappy people get jealous, right?! Only those not satisfied with the circumstances in their life?!?

Well maybe that last part is right.  I am a perfectionist, and so I always think something could have gone better, or be done better.  And when I see people who have done “it” better (whatever the “it” is), I hear the roar of the inner beast reminding me that whatever I did wasn’t good enough.

I truly don’t think jealousy in it’s earliest stages is a sin.  Because I can’t help my first reaction. I can’t help how I feel.  I can only help how I deal.

Philippians talks a little bit about this in chapter2, “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves…”

Vain conceit. That’s not specifically jealousy, but I think jealousy falls into that category.  Because we I get jealous over vain things. Things that have no Kingdom significance.

James talks about nearly the same thing in 3:14:

But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth.

Yeah, I can harbor envy and ambition, but I’m not supposed to let it affect my decisions.  And the best way to accomplish that is to not be jealous. And how do I go about being jealous-free?

By holding my thoughts captive.

That’s it.

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. {2 Corinthians 10:5}

Jealousy reveals ignorance of the truth Christ wants me to know: that I am enough.  Period. No need to be jealous because whatever my flaws or imperfections, I am fearfully and wonderfully made, and more than that, fearfully and wonderfully loved by a Creator who doesn’t make mistakes.

Take that jealousy!

LindseySignature2 BreakLine Bloglovin_post_button

5 thoughts on “Holding every thought captive

  1. thanks for this scripture reminder!! i think this is definitely something that is easy to let get to you especially in blogging world…shouldn’t compare ourselves to people on the internet hahaha.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, girl…this is so perfectly written! As a Christian, it is incredibly hard to let go of these feelings of jealousy and accept that you are enough. This house is enough. This car is enough. I find myself constantly telling myself “You don’t need a bigger house. You don’t need a newer car.” or whatever else it may be that has caught my eye. I love your advice of holding the thoughts captive. It’s a struggle and I’m glad to know I’m not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are definitely not alone! Right there with you! I find when I dwell on things, the more unhappy I become with certain circumstances. So definitely plan to put those things from my mind and cling to the Truth that I am enough in Him!

      Like

Leave a Reply

