Hope: On a Positive Note

Last time I wrote about “Hope,” it wasn’t a pretty blog post.  My apologies on that one, guys.

I outlined some of my frustrations at the time.  But I’m happy to say this:

I’m feeling very happy and hopeful about the future! Here’s why:

IMG_8444

New Year’s Resolutions–>

Well, everyone else already did them and I needed to catch up! lol.

I’ve never been big on these, but I do always have a running list of what I would like to do in the future.  Health is always on the list, but it’s been seeming really hopeless of late.  That is, until recently.

Roger and I have been wanting to lose weight for months, but we just never buckled down and did it.  Then we went to Amanda and Louie’s (see here), and they are all about that organic life.  I always thought Organic was just a big fat lie, but it’s literally the best thing ever. I’ll probably blog more about this later, but I really believe the food we eat is killing us…slowly.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So a visit to their place with their tips and tricks (apparently Costco’s has a lot of organic stuff) combined with 2 episodes of Good Eats (FoodNetwork), I have learned enough to get going with Roger and I’s new way of life.  And no. We are not on a diet.  We are changing our lifestyle.

To lose weight, we are following the four lists Alton Brown outlines in one of his episodes of Good Eats:

{LIST ONE-Foods to Eat Daily}

  • Dark leafy greens
  • Nuts
  • Carrots
  • Green tea
  • Whole grains
  • Fruits
    hope_almonds                                          (we chose almonds as our nut…)

{LIST TWO-Foods to 3x’s a Week}

  • Yogurt
  • Cauliflower
  • Broccoli
  • Sweet potato
  • Avocado
  • Oily fish
  • Tofu (probably won’t eat that one 3x’s a week….at least not at first)

{LIST THREE-Foods to Eat Once a Week}

  • Red meat
  • White starch
  • Desserts
  • Alcohol (not a real problem as we really don’t drink)

{LIST FOUR-Foods to Never Eat / Foods to Avoid at All Times}

  • Soda
  • Processed meals
  • Canned soups
  • “Diet” anything (because we’re not on a diet…this is a new way of living, here!)

In the rest of the episode (on Netflix, ps!) Alton Brown shows some recipes he used to lose and keep off 50 lbs! So, it’s nice to see some tasty options in there!

Roger and I also plan to start walking at nights, and when we get the routine of exercise under our belts, we will hopefully start insanity, or another type of workout video.  Maybe even a gym down the line! But I surely don’t want to start paying for a gym membership when I don’t have a routine down.  Ya feel me?!

IMG_8326

So that’s ONE of the resolutions Roger and I have.  The best part is that he is all in.  And that makes me feel so happy for us and the future.  Because I am hopeful that things can change, and that’s something I was missing before!

More resolutions to come, but I hope you all have a few goals you are working towards for a new you in 2015! (not that the old you is bad….)

IMG_5580

(PS, my first meme)

LindseySignature2 BreakLine Bloglovin_post_button

 

9 thoughts on “Hope: On a Positive Note

  1. Oh my gosh! That meme is HILARIOUS! Eating right is kind of a weird change. I feel like it is something that I know I should do and I do want to do but it is hard to get into the routine. I definitely don’t use the “diet” word for me it just isn’t practical. I am so so proud of you both though for wanting to change things! It is a good newlywed change to take together!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

