The Weekend Report {Happy New Year!}

I know, I know!

I’m so totally and completely late.  I suck at blogging, right?!

Anyway, here is my New Year’s weekend review:

Both Roger and I’s offices were closed Thursday and Friday, with a half day on Wednesday (New Year’s Eve).  This much paid time off from work is almost unheard of, so we took advantage of it by visiting some friends in Tallahassee.

The live nearby-ish…Only a 4.5 hour drive from Atlanta! Plus, last time we visited, it was only for like 23 hours, and we thought we had to do better than that!

IMG_7877_web(that one time we spent more time on the road than actually visiting with Amanda and Louie)

So off to Amanda and Louie’s house we went!

When we got there, we rested for a bit, then loaded their truck to take a short roadtrip to Dustin, Fl (hello beach!!!)…FOR CAMPING!!!! a) I have never been camping before in my life…at least not in a tent; b) I can’t say I was looking forward to it! lol.  But we had the best time!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset(Amanda and I….besties since High School!)Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset(the campsite…post breakdown)

We got there after dark, and had the help of people we were meeting up with (12 of us in all) to put our tent up.  Then we grilled some ribs, and waited to bring in the new year with some fireworks.  It was a great time, indeed!

Having attended Florida State, all my friends are huge Noles fans, and so Thursday, we found ourselves at a sports bar to watch the Rose Bowl game…where FSU had an embarrassing defeat to the Oregon Ducks.  Now.  I don’t follow sports.  At all.  Never even heard of the Ducks before. But ow, ow Mariota! Def a fan now! Sorry, FSU! (And ok, maybe I was swayed by Obama’s thoughts on what a good young man he is. YAY for the good guys of the world!)

We got to see some pretty lights after the game…to try to brighten Louie’s spirits! We had a photo shoot y’all! lol (Unfortunately those pics were taken on Louie’s phone, so I’ll post those when he sends them to me!)

Friday was a day of laziness.  Which I am ALL about! Roger made tacos for Amanda and Louie and I that night.  Best tacos he’s ever done!

Amanda and Louie are very organic, make it yourself/grow it yourself type people (like…they make their own yogurt!). More on that in later blog posts for sure! But because of this, Roger made a few modifications…like using brown rice in his Mexican rice instead of white rice.  I gotta tell you folks, just as delicious! It’s all about making those smart replacements!

Saturday we went shooting in this secluded gun range out in the country.  I probably shot 10 different guns (8 of which were Louie’s!), and we had a great time out there.  I even hit the targets, folks! #sniperstatus!

IMG_5605(the revolver…I was really excited to shoot this, though my face may not show it! lol.  Look at dat stance!)

For those of you who don’t know me, please know I am not a girl who grew up around guns.  The things honestly scare me! But it was so fun to shoot and aim, and feel like a secret agent! lol. We used the utmost gun safety with everything, and Louie helped train me on how to handle the gun so that I protected myself and others.  We didn’t just show up and act like hooligans! Great experience for sure!

Hope you guys had an amazing New Year’s! Heeeeeellllllooooo 2015!

LindseySignature2 BreakLine Bloglovin_post_button

 

12 thoughts on “The Weekend Report {Happy New Year!}

  1. Oh girl! I am a die hard noles fan but mmm mmm mm I agree with you! Mariota is mighty nice to look at! I shot a gun for the first time back in June with J’s family. It was wicked scary to me but I had a lot of fun doing it. I didn’t grow up around guns either..my mom is very anti-guns actually so it was a weird/scary/really fun experience. And you go girl for camping! Sounds and looks like you had an awesome time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shooting is scary because I’m like…what if something were to happen…but yeah, definitely fun in a scary way. Like I have everyone’s life in my hands–at least that’s who I felt! That’s cool that you’ve been too. Seems like we had similar upbringing on the gun issue! lol. And thanks! Camping was cold, but fun with all those people!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For a moment, I thought we couldn’t be blog friends anymore. The past couple years, I don’t think there is a Clemson fan out there who likes FSU. (just kidding, of course!) I’m totally with you on being scared of guns. I wish I felt more comfortable around them! Sounds like a great weekend, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

