Homemade Ornaments

Last night I tried my hand at making ornaments for an upcoming ornament exchange.  Haha.

To pinterest and Michael’s I went.  Here’s the craft I attempted:

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 10.13.11 AM

You can click on the above photo, or HERE for how to do it, but basically you are supposed to use a liquid adhesive (they use varnish…I used clear Elmer’s glue) to roll around INSIDE the ornament to coat it, then you pour sprinkles in to coat the ornament.  Haha.  They even mention how to not get the sprinkle colors to run.  Oops.

Sooooo um, this is how mine turned out…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Not too bad, until you look at the ornament from the top:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Yeah, so a blog I follow, “Chits and Giggles” once asked if her reader’s had any pinterest fails.  I think this counts! lol

ANYWAY,  I tried the craft again, with some slight modifications:

Modifications-Button

Here were my supplies:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset(I don’t know if you’re supposed to use glass balls, but I break things, SO, I used plastic)
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset(I used Clear Elmer’s glue instead of varnish…mostly because I couldn’t find the varnish.  Also, I used glitter instead of sprinkles.  Glitter colors don’t run.  Also, I wanted something more glamorous.)

I did the same thing I did with the sprinkles…put some glue in the ornament, and tilted the ornamet around until the inside was coated with glue.  Then I simply poured in some glitter! I put the ornament upside down in an old cup to let excess glitter and glue drop out.  Et voila!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset(Ornament after 11 hours of drying)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

In moving forward, I will most likely mix my own glitter.  I wanted something with a little more gold in it.  So next time, I will mix my own glitter and customize it that way.  I wasn’t super impressed with Michael’s selection of glitter.  Apparently I’m a connoisseur.  lol

Well that’s it for my craft night! If anyone has been successful with the sprinkle ornament, let a sista know! lol

LindseySignature2 BreakLine

Bloglovin_post_button

8 thoughts on “Homemade Ornaments

  1. Bhaha….yep! The first attempt was definitely a fail. But at least you tried it again with the glitter. It looks great! I will have to attempt this now that I know someone has done it well. Yea, my Pinterest fail really wasn’t too bad, but meh!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness! I LOVE the glitter ornament..better than the sprinkle one actually. I have been disappointed lately with Michael’s glitter selection too..If you live near a Hobby Lobby, I highly suggest browsing their ornament selection!

    I may have to make a few of the glitter ones for our house!
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

